top of page

Saevus 2

Written and read by Dawe, also read by Katz.

Chronic illness and the drugs that are used to treat it have an impact that pervades every aspect of life and living.


Saevus 2

For they would fain to damp, abate, When what I want is rushing on, Nay, I would fain myself be gone! And walk through frost-bit, stirrless dawn, To walk until my face were drawn And hollow; ‘til just my spirit shone.


(Dawe, 2017)

 

This work was initially published on Bedfest, a closed Facebook group for people with Myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME)


This poem currently has been narrated twice. The first is by Katz (#katz) and the second is by the poet. Dawe (#dawe)




 

More people are writing and thinking about work-based poetry. Does this poem make you think of anything? Send your thoughts to editor@workinwords.net. ​


Send a poem you've written or one you like and we'll share it with other WorkInWords readers.

 



 

Image: Painting by Pablo Picasso


bottom of page