top of page

Our vows.

Written by Loot.

Retaining and maintaining a vow we make to one another is seen by many as a very important element of a relationship and part of societal glue. Time can bring change to that which was. Open communication may necessitate us adjusting our vows.


Our vows.

You’re very quiet, what the hell’s up with you?

You’ve withdrawn inside, like you always do.


I’ve gone to the place that’s still, can’t you tell?

It’s far away, when there, I can’t hear too well.

The shell of me still remains with you, walking

But the soul of me is elsewhere, slowly healing.


It needs time to recover, to a metronomic beat.

To be then capable of tuning up or being deplete.

It needs steady state, to be fit for highs and lows.

With silence and stillness, before activity grows.


You’re very quiet, what the hell’s up with you?

You’ve withdrawn inside, like you always do.


I’m not blessed with the glorious gift of constancy

Unlike body and soul’s, independent dependency.

And yes, with age, it seems that I go away more.

Verses get longer, insidious trait, I truly deplore


But I am still living, still feeling the joy in each day.

I am still believing, the truth, in everything you say.

I am still pondering and peering hopefully forward.

Still caring and hoping, that life can be nurtured


You’re very quiet, what the hell’s up with you?

You’ve withdrawn inside, like you always do.


We promised each other “in sickness and health”.

I may need to add “through brashness and stealth”.

Loot, 2021

 

More people are writing and thinking about work-based poetry. Does this poem make you think of anything? Send your thoughts to editor@workinwords.net. ​


Send a poem you've written or one you like and we'll share it with other WorkInWords readers.


 


bottom of page