top of page

My daughter.

This poem was submitted for publication on the 'Other Words' pages of WorkInWords.net in the weeks following the murder of a young women in London in 2021.

The female writer is Anon.


My daughter.

I look at my daughter

So young and so free

She knows so well

Just how to be

She must claim the night

After all it’s her right


But I am sure you can see

My anxiety

We have to run

For somebody’s fun.

We’ve a long way to go

Progress has been slow


Too long accepting

A norm of protecting

We have to let go

To go with the flow

Teach men how to act

Not accept as a fact


That testosterone rules


Anon, Female (2021)

 

More people are writing and thinking about work-based poetry. Does this poem make you think of anything? Send your thoughts to editor@workinwords.net. ​


Send a poem you've written or one you like and we'll share it with other WorkInWords readers.


Image credit: "Violence Against Women" by Era Khan


 

bottom of page