top of page

Mercedes Benz


'Mercedes Benz'

Lord don’t buy me a Mercedes Benz. Just tell me, oh tell me when her illness ends.


She takes all the tablets, pops pill after pill. She battles and battles with all of her will.


Head wiggling, tummy touching alternative this and that. For sure someone will tell her, just wear a hat.


Her friends all gave up, too frustrated to stay No phone and few texts, as they’ve drifted away.


Cancelled parties, dance dates declined Her friends have all gone and left her behind.


My heart rises and falls day in and day out As my lovely daughter is forced to sleep it out.


Oh Lord don’t buy me a Mercedes Benz Just tell me, oh tell me when her illness ends.

(PEF, 2018)


 

*People of a certain age will recognise the inspiration for these words.

Have a listen to ‘Mercedes Benz’ by Janis Joplin, released 1970.


More people are writing and thinking about work-based poetry. Does this poem make you think of anything? Send your thoughts to editor@workinwords.net.

​

Send a poem you've written or one you like and we'll share it with other WorkInWords readers.



 
bottom of page